RBI to issue Rs10 notes bearing governor's signature

The Reserve Bank of India will be issuing new 10-rupee bank notes bearing the signature of governor Raghuram Rajan.

''The notes of 10-rupee denomination in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 bearing the signature of Governor Rajan will be issued shortly,'' the central bank said in a release today.

The rupee symbol on the notes would appear both on the obverse and reverse sides, with inset letter A in both numbering panels.

The year 2014 would be printed on the reverse side of the notes according to the release.

"The design of these notes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the Rs 10 bank notes in Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 issued earlier," it said.

The RBI added, that all bank notes of Rs10 denomination issued in the past would continue to be legal tender.