India extends `visa-on-arrival' scheme to nationals of Myanmar and Indonesia news
25 January 2011

India has extended the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) scheme to nationals of Myanmar and Indonesia, taking the number of countries on the TVOA list to 11.

The visa on arrival scheme originally introduced for the nationals of five countries, namely, Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg and New Zealand from 1 January 2010, has since been extended to tourists from Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam and the Philippines with effect from 1 January 2011.

The scheme has been found to be useful by the foreign nationals and as per tourism ministry data 6,569 nationals have availed the facility of TVOA up to December 2010.

The TVOA is allowed for a maximum 30 days with single entry facility by the immigration officers at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports on payment of a fee of $60 or equivalent amount in Indian rupees per passenger (including children).

TVOA is allowed for a maximum of two times in a calendar year to a foreigner with a minimum gap of two months between each visit. TVOA is non-extendable and non-convertible.

The foreigners of the above mentioned countries might also avail of TVOA for up to 30 days for medical treatment, for casual business or to visit friends/relatives, etc.

The TVOA facility is not applicable to the holders of diplomatic/official passports. Further, TVOA will not be granted to the foreigners who have permanent residence or occupation in India as such persons can visit India on normal visa.

 search domain-b
India extends `visa-on-arrival' scheme to nationals of Myanmar and Indonesia