President signs Telangana bill; central rule in Andhra Pradesh

The central government today imposed President's Rule in Andhra Pradesh after President Pranab Mukherjee signed the bill to carve out Telangana state from the present Andhra Pradesh.

The Parliament passed the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2014 on 20 February despite strong opposition from Seemandhra leaders, paving the way for the creation of the country's 29th state.

Telangana will have 10 of Andhra Pradesh's 23 districts, including Hyderabad, leaving 13 districts in Andhra Pradesh. The two states will initially share Hyderabad city as joint capital for 10 years.

The centre has announced grant of special category status to the residuary state comprising the Seemandhra region, including tax incentives, as part of a six-point development package for the two successor states.

The President signed the proclamation to impose central rule in Andhra Pradesh and gave his nod to place under suspended animation the Andhra Pradesh Assembly whose term is slated to end on 2 June.

The decision to impose President's rule in Andhra Pradesh was necessitated by the resignation of N Kiran Kumar Reddy as chief minister on 19 February as he was opposed to division of the state.

Governor E S L Narasimhan had recommended central rule in the state after the resignation.