Ministry of Civil Aviation to complete modernisation of non-metro airports by March 2010

Minister for civil aviation, Praful Patel, has informed the Parliament that March 2010 remains the target date to complete the modernization process of the 35 non-metro airports by the Airports Authority of India (AAI).

New terminal buildings, expandable on a modular basis, are being constructed at Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Aurangabad, Agatti, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Dehradun, Goa, Jaipur, Lucknow, Indore, Khajuraho, Madurai, Mangalore, Port Blair, Ranchi, Raipur, Rajkot, Trivandrum, Trichy, Udaipur, Varanasi and Vishakhapatnam airports.

Modification/expansion of existing terminal buildings is being undertaken at airports in Agra, Agartala, Coimbatore, Dimapur, Guwahati, Imphal, Jammu, Nagpur, Patna, Pune and Vadodara.

Airside works, including expansion and strengthening of runway for wide-bodied aircraft, extension/new construction of apron for parking of more aircraft, link taxiways and parallel taxi tracks are being taken up at these airports.

City-side development through the public private partnership route is being undertaken at 24 of these airports.