Defence secretary Pradeep Kumar will be new CVC

Defence secretary Pradeep Kumar New Delhi: Defence secretary Pradeep Kumar will be the country's next chief vigilance commissioner (CVC). The Government of India cleared his appointment after his candidature received unanimous approval from a three member panel consisting of the prime minister, Manmohan Singh, the home minister, P Chidamabaram and leader of the opposition in the Lok Sabha, BJP's Mrs Sushma Swaraj.

An official announcement is yet to be made.

Kumar, 60, retires as defence secretary on 31 July. He will have a four year as prescribed under the CVC Act.

Kumar is a Haryana cadre IAS officer of the 1972 batch, who was secretary, defence production, before assuming charge as defence secretary.

Swaraj, who had earlier opposed an attempt to foist controversial IAS officer PC Thomas as the CVC said she had no problems with Kumar's candidature.

"The name has been finalised... I have not raised any objection," Swaraj told reporters after the 20-minute meeting at the prime minister's official residence.