Govt plans action against 2,25,910 companies that failed to file tax rturns

The ministry of corporate affairs has identified a total of 2,25,910 companies for non-filing of due returns for the financial years 2015-16 and 2016-17. These companies will be brought under the due process of the Registrar of Companies before striking off their names of companies.

Stating this in the Lok Sabha today, minister of state for law and justice and corporate affairs PP Chaudhary further said that during 2017-18 the ROCs had identified 2.97 lakh companies which were not filing their financial statements or annual returns for a continuous period of two or more financial years.
Prima facie, either these companies were not conducting any business or were not in operation, he added. Out of such identified companies, ROCs had removed the names of 2,26,166 such companies from the register by following the due process under Section 248 of the Companies Act, 2013.
He said Maharashtra had the largest number of non-filers of tax returns at 61,149, followed by Delhi (45,472), Telengana (27,230), West Bengal (22,695), Tamil Nadu (22,619), Uttar Pradesh  (18,049), Gujarat (14,167), Karnataka (13,452), Kerala (9,062), Andhra Pradesh (8,708), Rajasthan (7,745), Haryana (6,991), Madhya Pradesh (4,578), Punjab (4,508), Odisha (4,203), Jarkhand (2,818), Chandigarh (2,358), Chhatisgarh (1,436), Assam (1,262), Himachal Pradesh (1,110), Uttarakhand (1,047), Goa (992), Jammu and Kashmir (842), Pondicherry (451), Meghalaya (143), Manipur (107), Tripura (106), Nagaland (92), Dadra & Nagar Haveli (88), Arunachal Pradesh (80), Andaman & Nicobar Islands (78), Daman & Diu (43), Mizoram (20) and  Lakshadweep (7).
Further, he said, the central government has ordered investigation into the true ownership of 68 companies that have deposited and withdrawn funds in an exceptional manner from bank accounts during demonetisation period.