24 states pass SGST Acts, seven states yet to clear bill

Twenty-our state governments have passed State GST (SGST) Acts while seven other states, including Meghalaya, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka,  Karnataka, Jammu & Kashmir and West Bengal, have yet to pass the SGST Act as of today, according to a government release.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi today reviewed the progress towards implementing GST on 1 July.

The meeting, which lasted for over two-and-a-half hours, was attended by finance minister Arun Jaitley and top-most officials from the finance ministry, PMO and the cabinet secretary.

The prime minister is reported to have specifically reviewed aspects of implementation such as IT readiness, HR readiness, training and sensitisation of officers, query handling mechanism, and monitoring.

The prime minister was informed that GST systems such as IT infrastructure, training of officials, integration with banks, and enrolment of existing taxpayers will be in readiness well in time for the 1July implementation date.

The meeting also discussed issues on information security systems in detail.

The prime minister asserted that the implementation of GST from 1 July, is the culmination of the concerted efforts of all stakeholders, including political parties, trade and industry bodies. He described GST as a turning point for the economy, unprecedented in history. He directed officials that the creation of One Nation; One Market; One Tax would greatly benefit the common man. The prime minister also directed that maximum attention be paid to cyber-security in IT systems concerned with GST.

A Twitter handle - @askGst_GOI has been started for real time answering of queries. An All India toll-free phone 1800-1200-232 has also been activated for this purpose.