Eight state assemblies pass State GST Act as national roll-out nears

Eight states have passed the State Goods and Services Tax (SGST) Act in their respective state assemblies in less than a month's time facilitating a timely roll-out of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) that would help turn India into one common market.

While the legislative assembly of Telangana passed the State GST Act on 9 April, Bihar assembly passed it on 24 April 2017, Rajasthan assembly on 26 April, Jharkhand assembly on 27 April, Chhattisgarh assembly on 28 April, Uttarakhand assembly on 2 May, Madhya Pradesh assembly on 3 May and the Haryana assembly on 4 May.

Earlier the GST Council had approved the model State GST (SGST) Bill in its 12 meeting held on 16 March 2017. The remaining states/UTs (having legislative assembly) are likely to pass the State GST Bill in their respective assemblies before the end of this month, except one or two states which may pass the same early next month.

The next GST Council meeting is scheduled to be held at Srinagar in J&K on 18 and 19 May 2017.

Since the central government has targeted GST roll-out from 1 July 2017, the quick passage of the State GST Act by the different state assemblies in a time bound manner will help ensure that implementation of the GST in letter and spirit is not further delayed and takes place from 1 July 2017.

Officials of the Department of Revenue of the central government, including revenue secretary Hasmukh Adhia and concerned officials of the state governments have already started the outreach programme in order to create general awareness among the people at large and stakeholders in particular and remove their doubts, if any, about the various provisions of GST and its related legislations.