EC bans exit polls

The Election Commission has banned exit polls between 4 February and 8 March in the five election-bound states, including the bypoll for the Amritsar Lok Sabha seat.

"Exit polls cannot be conducted and publicised by means of print and electronic media or dissemination in any other manner starting from February 4, 2017 at 7 AM to March 8, 2017 at 5.30 PM," a spokesman of the EC said citing provisions of section 126 A of Representations of the Peoples' Act, 1951.

Display of any election matter, including results of any opinion poll or any other poll survey in any electronic media is prohibited during the 48 hour period, including the hour fixed for conclusion of voting in each of the phases in connection with the elections, the EC spokesman clarified further.