Union cabinet expanded with seven new ministers

The union cabinet was expanded yesterday with the induction of seven new ministers and six being dropped. Minister for overseas Indians Vyalar Ravi has been redesignated parliamentary affairs minister, a portfolio held by Priay Ranjan Das Munshi who continues as minister for information and broadcasting.

The new ministers include Congress chief whip in the Rajya Sabha V Narayanasamy who replaces M V Rajasekharan as minister of state for planning. Former chief election commissioner M S Gill has been alloted independent charge as minister of state for youth affairs and sports, a post held by former petroleum minister Mani Shankar Aiyar who continues as panchayati raj minister.  

Others inducted in the cabinet are, Congress MPs Jyotiraditya Scindia, Jitin Prasada, Rameshwar Oraon, Santosh Bagrodia and RJD MP Raghunath Jha.

Those who are out of the cabinet are Suresh Pachauri, minister of state for parliamentary affairs, Dasari Narayan Rao,  minister of state for coal,  M V Rajashekharan, minister of state for planning, T Subbirami Reddy, minister of state  for mnes, Akhilesh Das minister of state for steel and Manikrao Gavit, minister of state for home.

V Narayanasamy -- Parliamentary affairs and planning
Santosh Bagrodia -- Coal
Raghunath Jha -- Heavy industries and public enterprises
Rameshwar Oraon --Tribal affairs
Jyotiraditya Scindia -- Communications and information  technology
Jitin Prasada -- Steel
B K Handique -- Chemical and fertilisers, mines
Shakeel Ahmed -- Home
Prithviraj Chavan -- PMO, personnel, public grievances  and pensions
Kanti Singh -- Tourism and culture
P K Bansal -- Finance and parliametary affairs
Jairam Ramesh -- Commerce and power