BBB names 22 GMs of state-run banks for elevation as executive directors

The Banks Board Bureau (BBB), appointed by the government to help it in the selection of candidates for top board-level appointments in state-run banks, has recommended 22 general managers to be elevated as executive directors at various public sector banks.

This is the first major exercise undertaken by the Banks Board Bureau (BBB), the advisory body formed by the government two years back.
The BBB, headed by newly appointed chairman B P Sharma, has recommended general managers Manas Ranjan Biswal, Gopal Gusain, Vivek Jha, Alok Srivastava, Hemant Kumar Tamta, Ajit Kumar Das, Agyey Kumar Azad, Dinesh Kumar Garg, Sanjay Aggarwal and Shanti Lal Jain for appointment as EDs. Besides, Vijay Dube, Ajay K Khurana, A Manimekhalai, Vikramaditya Singh Khichi, Usha Ravi, P R Rajagopal, Shenoy Vishwanath Vittal, Atul Kumar, K Srinivasa Rao, Sanjay Kumar, K Ramchandran and Ajay Vyas to be elevated as executive directors in various state-run banks.
Sharma, a former secretary in the Department of Personnel and Training, was appointed head of the panel in April after the then chairman Vinod Rai, former CAG, completed a two-year term.
The chairman and members of the panel have recommended to the Government of India 22 general managers for being appointed as executive directors in public sector banks (PSBs), BBB said in a statement.
“These recommendations are based on interactions held by the Banks Board Bureau with eligible candidates from PSBs towards appointment against vacancies in PSBs for the period 2018-19,” it said.
The Appointments Committee of Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi will take the final decision on their appointment.