Monsoon session: Parliament hits Telangana, Bodoland bump on Day 1

The monsoon session of Parliament, which got off to a stormy start today, ended the day without transacting any business as opposition members in both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha created ruckus over the creation of Telangana state out of the existing Andhra Pradesh and the ordinance promulgated over the food subsidy scheme.

Both houses witnessed slogan shouting by members against the proposal to form Telangana amidst calls for the creation of a separate Bodoland.

Members of Parliament also questioned the necessity of promulgating an ordinance covering the Food Security Bill leading to adjournment of both houses on the opening day itself.

The Congress government's decision to create a separate state of Telangana by bifurcating Andhra Pradesh led to protests both within and outside Parliament.

Members of the Lok Sabha began shouting slogans against the proposal to form a Telangana state and the demand for a separate Bodoland, minutes after the proceedings began.

TDP members and Congress MPs opposed to Telangana walked into the well and shouted slogans soon after new members took oath and paid homage to departed parliamentarians, including Mahendra Karma and Vidya Charan Shukla, who were killed in a brutal Naxal attack in Chhattisgarh on 25 May.

TDP members also slammed TRS chief K Chandrasekar Rao's remarks that officials who hailed from Seemandhra but are working in Telangana region must go back.

"We want justice for Seemandhra area, and "We want united Andhra Pradesh," Congress members were heard shouting.

Even as the TDP and the Congress ranted "We want justice " and "We want united Andhra Pradesh," Bodoland People's Front (BPF) member S K Bwiswmuthiary walked into the well with a banner that read: "Bodoland MPs strongly stand for a separate state of Bodoland".

Efforts by parliamentary affairs minister Kamal Nath and speaker Meira Kumar to pacify the members did not help to end the din.

Earlier during the day, new members, including Prabhunath Singh (RJD), Haribhai Parthibhai Chaudhary (BJP), Vithalbhai H Radadiya (BJP), Partibha Singh (Cong) and Prasun Banerjee (TMC), took oath.