Over 10,000 EWS houses in TN to get roof-mounted solar panels under PMAY

In a first of its kind under Prime Minister's Awas Yojana (Urban), the ministry of housing and urban poverty alleviation today approved fitting of roof top solar energy panels on 10,000 houses belonging to economically weaker sections in Tamil Nadu at a cost of Rs253 crore.

This 'Green' proposal of the state government, approved by an inter-ministerial Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (CSMC) chaired by HUPA secretary Nandita Chatterjee, will involve an expenditure of Rs2.53 lakh per unit.

For greening these 10,000 EWS houses in 157 town panchayats, the centre will provide an assistance of Rs1.50 lakh per house while the state government will contribute Rs0.60 lakh and the beneficiary's contribution will be Rs0.43 lakh.

The committee today also approved the construction of 7,204 houses under the Affordable Housing in Partnerhsip (AHP) component of PMAY (Urban) in nine cities and towns at a total cost of Rs572 crore, with cost of construction ranging from Rs7.22 lakh to Rs8.46 lakh per house. Of this, central assistance will be Rs1.50 lakh per house and the rest will be borne by the state government and beneficiaries.

As per the committee's approval, another 6,272 houses of economically weaker sections will be improved with required additional construction at a cost of Rs188 crore under the 'Beneficiary led Construction' component of the urban housing mission in nine cities.

For this, the central government will provide an assistance of Rs1.50 lakh per beneficiary while the state government and the beneficiary will contribute Rs0.60 lakh and Rs0.90 lakh per house.

Of the total cost of construction / improvement of 23,476 houses in Tamil Nadu approved today, central government will provide a total assistance of Rs352.14 crore.

There are about 4,635 affordable houses approved for construction/improvement in Chennai while Pudukkottai has 1,920, Namakkal 1,392, Madurai 1,362, Ranipet 1,086, Tiruchirapalli 896, Vellore 521, Erode 448, Coimbattore 356, Nagapattinam 336, Thanjavur 256, Hosur 190 and Viruddhnagar 78 units.