Mukerjea bags MTR Indian Telly Awards'' CEO of the year

Peter MukerjeaMumbai: At the MTR Indian Telly Awards held here, Star India CEO Peter Mukerjea received the CEO of the year award, while Balaji Telefilms and UTV shared the award for the TV production house of the year.

Apart from this, Aaj Tak was adjudged the news channel for the year 2002, Star Plus was the entertainment channel of the year and MTV was the music channel of the year. Zee Cinema was named the Hindi movie channel of the year.

As for the awards for the various soaps being aired on the different channels, Star Plus' Des Mein Nikla Hoga Chand was awarded the TV programme of the year, while the award for the best continuing TV programme was shared by Sab TV's Office Office and Star Plus' Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi, which also won the daily serial award. Also, Star Plus' Sanjivani and Des Mein... both won the best weekly serial award.

Reality Bites — The Petrol Pump Scam got NDTV and Star News the best current affairs programme of the year award, while CNBC-TV18's Storyboard fetched it the best business programme of the year award.

NDTV-produced Sports Tonight got Star News the award for best sports programme of the year, while Synergy Communications' Mastermind India on BBC World won the game show of the year award.