Online sanctioning of building plans introduced in 27 urban centres: minister

About 27 urban bodies, including municipal corporations and urban development authorities, have put in place online building plan sanctions, in a development that would help in reducing the time taken for according necessary approvals, the Lok Sabha was informed today.

Stating this in a written reply, minister of state for urban development Babul Supriyo said the centre has also asked states to streamline sanction procedures to enable approvals in one month.

Of the 27 urban bodies that are going online with building plan approvals, seven are in Maharashtra, while five are in Kerala, the minister said.

Municipal corporations in Maharashtra that have done so include Greater Mumbai, Pune-Pimpri-Chinchwad, Nagpur, Solapur, Amravati, Ulhasnagar and Lavasa.

In Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Kochi, Thrissur, Kozhikode have gone online with building plan approvalds.

Besides, New Delhi Municipal Council and Municipal Corporation of South Delhi as also the municipal bodies of Ujjain, Gwalior, Indore, Hubil-Dharwad and Coimbattore have introduce online sanction procedures for building construction.

Metropolitan development authorities to have done so include New Town Kolkata Development Authority, Chennai Metropolitan Development Authority, Haryana Urban Development Authority, Bhubaneswar Development Authority, Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority and Jaipur Development Authority.

Supriyo further stated that the ministry of urban development has advised the state governments to streamline the building sanction procedures so as to accord clearences in a month's time.