Tata Sons names Venu Srinivasan, Ajay Piramal as non-executive directors

Tata Sons, the holding company of Tata group of companies, has appointed industrialists Venu Srinivasan and Ajay Piramal as non-executive directors, effective Thursday.

While Srinivasan is the chairman of Sundaram-Clayton and TVS Motor Company, Piramal is the chairman of Piramal Group and the Shriram Capital.

Srinivasan has served as the president of the Confederation of Indian Industries (CII) for the year 2009-10, president of the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM) for the period 1999-2001, and Chairman of the National Safety Council, Government of India.

He is also the Managing Trustee of the Srinivasan Services Trust (SST). He was conferred the Padma Shri by the President of India in 2010 for his outstanding contributions in the field of trade and industry.

Piramal, who serves on the Harvard Business School's Board of Dean's Advisors, serves as the Chairman of Pratham (the world's largest NGO in primary education), and was the former Chairman of the Board of Governors of IIT Indore. He served on the board of State Bank of India and has been a Member of the Prime Minister's Council for Trade & Industry. He has been the recipient of several national and international awards, including the Forbes Distinguished Philanthropist of the year award.