Godrej family to be first recipient of Qimpro Green Legacy Award

The ‘Godrej Family’ has won the Qimpro Green Legacy Award, instituted for the first time by the Qimpro Foundation this year.

Adi Godrej (left) Jamshyd Godrej (centre) and Nadir Godrej

The annual Qimpro Awards usually recognise individual excellence in various fields, with the focus on business, education, and healthcare. Environment has now been introduced as an independent category.
The Foundation has introduced the Qimpro Green Legacy Award for organizations that stand out as exemplars of green values/ethics/quality/governance over generations.
Qimpro Awards are presented in two categories — Qimpro Platinum Standard, to a national statesman for quality, with global footprint; and Qimpro Gold Standard, to a leader who has transformed a specific organization using quality as a strategy.
Qimpro Foundation organized four independent panels of judges for business, education, healthcare, and environment this month. The panels were chaired by Nandan Nilekani (QPS 2017 - Business); Dr M Anandakrishnan (QPS 2017 - Education); Dr Samuel Mathew (QPS 2017 – Healthcare); and Hemendra Kothari (Qimpro Medal 2016 - Environment).
Winners of Qimpro Platinum Standards for 2018 are:
  • Business: Dr K Radhakrishnan, honorary distinguished advisor, Deptartment of Space / ISRO
  • Education: Prof Y K Bhushan, senior advisor and campus head, IBS Business School and chairperson of Federation of Universities of ICFAI Group of Universities and IBS Alumni Federation (IBSAF), Mumbai
  • Healthcare: Dr Mammen Chandy, Director and Head, Tata Medical Center, Kolkata
  • Environment: Bittu Sahgal, environmental activist and founding editor, Sanctuary Asia Magazine, Mumbai
Winners of Qimpro Gold Standards for 2018 are:
  • Business: No recipient
  • Education: Dr (Mrs) Pankaj Mittal, Additional Secretary, University Grants Commission, Delhi
  • Healthcare: Dr Sunil Kaul, founder and managing trustee, The ANT, Assam
  • Environment: No recipient

The Qimpro Awards Ceremony, which will be held on 16 November in Mumbai, is being sponsored by the Tata Sons, Mahindra & Mahindra, Quantum Mutual Fund, Godrej Consumer Products, Mahindra Intertrade, and Transcorp International.