Digital TV announces 14 new entertainment and news channels

Digital TV, the DTH service from Airtel, today announced the addition of 14 new entertainment and news channels to its bouquet, taking the total to 164 channels in 11 languages across the country. With the addition of these channels, the Airtel digital TV language line up will now have 45 Hindi, 45 English, six Punjabi, three Oriya, 13 Tamil, nine Malayalam, nine Kannada, seven Bengali, three Gujarati, seven Marathi, two North East and 10 Telugu channels.

Announcing this development Sugato Banerji, VP marketing, DTH, Bharti Airtel, said, ''We remain committed to offering magical entertainment to our customers across the country and are pleased to announce an additional twelve new channels to our bouquet - offering a good mix of news, entertainment, music and movies - something for every member of the Airtel digital TV family.''

The 14 new channels include the following: News Channels - ET Now, DD Bangla, DD Oriya, CNEB News, India News, ETV UP, Asianet News, Indiavision; Movie Channels - Bindaas Movies; Music Channel - ETC Punjabi; Entertainment Channels - Bindaas, Amrita, Kasthuri, Siripolli. These channels will be added automatically to the subscription plans for all new Airtel digital TV customers across the country. Existing customers will have to add the relevant top ups.