Aeronautical Society of India honours DRDO scientists

Chennai: The Aeronautical Society of India has awarded the ''National Aeronautical Prize'' for outstanding contribution in the field of aeronautics to K Tamilmani, chief executive, CEMILAC, DRDO, along with group directors, BS Vedaprakash and S Neelakantan.

The award is in recognition of the airworthiness and certification tasks by the team at CEMILAC.

CEMILAC was established in 1995 to consolidate air certification work. In a span of five years the organisation has become one of DRDO's significant agencies vested with the responsibility of airworthiness and certification of Military Aircraft and Airborne Stores. The CEMILAC corporate office, located in Bangalore has 14 regional centres spread all over the country each with a unique core competence. 

K Tamilmani had been recognised by the Aeronautical Society of India in the past as well with the Prof VM Ghatge award for Design Excellence.

T Mohan Rao, director GTRE, along with team member Dr Suresh Srivastav, Scientist 'E,' has been awarded the "Dr VM Ghatge National Award" for outstanding contribution made in the development of aerospace technologies.

The contributions are related to design and development of variable convergent - divergent exhaust nozzle linkage and control system for the Kaveri engine.

The award, according to a DRDO release, was presented during the Annual General Body meeting of the society held at IIT, Chennai last week.