More reports on: Social media

WhatsApp Messenger update to allow deletion of messages in 68 minutes from 7 minutes earlier

06 March 2018

WhatsApp Messenger has updated its 'Delete for Everyone' feature to allow users to delete their sent messages within 4,096 seconds or 68 minutes and 16 seconds as against the earlier deadline of 420 seconds or seven minutes.

The messaging service had rolled out 'Delete for Everyone' in November last year (See: WhatsApp introduces Delete for Everyone feature).

The feature allows users to delete specific messages they had sent to either a group or an individual chat.

The development was first spotted by WABetaInfo, the WhatsApp update tracking site. The WhatsApp Android beta version 2.18.69 features the extended deadline live. A stable release for Android and iOS is expected to be released soon.

Currently, only WhatsApp Android beta testers can make use of the extended deadline for 'Delete for Everyone' feature.

WhatsApp had last month rolled out a new feature to allow YouTube videos directly inside the messaging app, running inside a small floating window inside the WhatsApp screen.

The new feature has been made available for iOS users only and no timeline has been communicated for Android or Windows users. To view a YouTube video on WhatsApp, users simply need to share or receive the URL in a chat. The Play button can be seen in a bubble.

WABetainfo also reported earlier in the day that WhatsApp is all set to bring the locked voice recording feature to Android, which is already seen in iOS. WhatsApp had introduced the locked recording feature for iOS last year.

The feature is currently available in Android beta version and WhatsApp is expected to roll it out to stable build very soon. The WhatsApp locked voice recording feature makes it easy for users to send voice recordings to their contacts. Currently, to send a voice recorded message, an Android user would  need to hold the dedicated voice recording button until the completion of recording, which becomes a hassle for the user, at times.

 search domain-b