ISRO chief, Madhavan Nair to get Nayudamma award

Hyderabad: The chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), G. Madhavan Nair, has been selected for the prestigious Dr Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award for 2004, making him the 13th recipient of the award.

The award, instituted in 1986 in memory of distinguished scientist and internationally renowned leather technologist Dr Nayudamma, has in the past been awarded to distinguished scientists like Dr Verghese Kurien, Dr M.S. Swaminathan, Dr D S Kotharei, Dr R Chidambaram, Dr R.A. Mashelkar, amongst others.

The award has traditionally been presented at the coastal Andhra town of Tenali, the home town of Dr Y Nayudamma, where the memorial trust is based. The award will be presented at a function on March 9. It recognises his outstanding contribution to India's space research and satellite development programmes.

Dr N. Jayaprakash Narayan, National Co-ordinator, Loksatta, will present the award.