Plea filed in SC against division of Andhra Pradesh into two states

A public interest petition has been filed in the Supreme Court challenging the constitutional validity of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act that led to creation of the new State of Telangana.

A bench of justices B S Chauhan and A K Sikri on Monday refused urgent hearing of the PIL, filed by V R KrishnaIyer of the Free Legal Aid Committee, and ordered that it be tagged along with other petitions on the issue.

Advocate G Venkatesh Rao, appearing for the committee, sought urgent hearing of the PIL, citing media reports that said that a ''war room'' is being created to drive out from Hyderabad residents who do not hail from Telangana.

''Let it be tagged with other similar petitions,'' the bench said.

A political decision has been implemented days before the tenure of the 15th Lok Sabha came to an end with an aim to get ''political and electoral gains'', the plea said.

It said the APR Act was passed by both Houses of Parliament ''unconstitutionally and undemocratically'' at the behest of the ruling Congress party at the centre through ''mala fide'' political manoeuvers, and therefore ''by no stretch of imagination can it be considered the 'will' of the people of the undivided State of Andhra Pradesh''. it said.

The PIL has made ministry of home affairs, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Secretary Generals of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and Cabinet Secretary parties.

It alleged the ruling dispensation ignored the decision of Andhra Pradesh assembly and the ''in-depth analysis and weighty recommendations of the 'Justice Srikrishna Committee Report - 2010''.

''The Bill was introduced at the behest of a political party called Telangana Rashtra Samiti whose representation in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly was only 10 Members (MLA's) in an Assembly having a strength of 294 Members, thereby having only 3.99% of the vote share in the total votes polled in the 2009 Assembly elections.

''Even in the 2009 General Elections, the 'TRS' had won 2 seats out of the 42 MP's elected and as such had only 2 MPs,'' it said.