Dr Jayant Narlikar and Bhoje wins H K Firodia 2006 awards

Chennai: Dr. Jayant Narlikar, founder director, Inter University Centre for Astronomy & Astrophysics, Pune, and nuclear energy scientist S B Bhoje, former director, Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research (IGCAR) have been awarded the H K Firodia 2006 award.

The award is given to Indian scientists outstanding performance and world-class work in any branch of science. The awards are meant to recognise their contributions, to inspire the youth of this country to take to science, develop scientific temper and offer innovative solutions to problems faced by the country.

The previous award winners include Dr APJ Abdul Kalam, now the Indian president, Dr R Chidambaram, principal scientific advisor to the Indian Government, Dr Anil Kakodkar, chairman, Atomic Energy Commission, Dr K Kasturirangan, former chairman ISRO and Dr CNR Rao, chairman, Knowledge Commission.

Dr Narlikar will receive the Rs2-lakh award for his outstanding work in the field of "cosmology" (astronomy and astrophysics). He is known for his collaborative research work with his mentor Dr Fred Hoyle on throwing more light on Einstein''s theory of relativity. He is also well known as a science communicator and has written several books and articles. He was conferred a Padmabhusan when he was 26 and was awarded the Padmavibhushan in 2004.

Bhoje will receive the Rs 10-lakh award for his contribution to the development of fast breeder reactors. He redesigned the reactor core with new carbide fuel, for the prototype 500MW fast -breeder reactors. He is the recipient of several national awards including the Padmashree in 2003.