Massive development plan for airports

The government has taken up the development of the non-metro airports within the country with the objectives of providing modern infrastructure and enhancing non-aeronautical revenue. Non-metro airports numbering 35 have been identified for this purpose, which will be developed in phases.

The new concept for the 35 non-metro terminal buildings include features such as modular design; structured steel with toughened glass glazing; vertical air-conditioning system; aero-bridges - with glass walls; walkways; in-line baggage screening for check-in; escalators; improved signages; integrated building management system; intelligent terminals; CUTE; improved traffic management on city side.

Phase I: Development of 10 non-metro airports
The 10 non metro airports that have been identified for development under Phase I are Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Guwahati, Jaipur, Udaipur, Trivandrum, Lucknow, Goa, Madurai and Mangalore.

With the approval of the AAI board, global technical advisor (GTA) and Indian financial consultant (IFC) (one set each for 5 non-metro airports covering the 10 non-metro airports) were appointed. These Consultants were asked to carry out a detailed techno-economic feasibility study and submit a report with various options to be adopted by AAI for development of the 10 non-metro airports.

Phase II: Development of 15 non metro airports
The 15 airports identified for development under Phase-II are Agatti, Aurangabad, Khajuraho, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhopal, Indore, Nagpur, Vishakhapatnam, Trichi, Bhubhaneshwar, Coimbatore, Patna, Portblair and Varanasi.

Phase III: Development of additional 10 metro airports
The 10 Non-Metro airports to be developed under Phase-III are Agartala, Dehradun, Imphal, Ranchi, Raipur, Chandigarh, Pune, Dimapur, Agra and Jammu.