## **NOTES**

The following figures/units are used in the Economic Survey:

10 million

crore

BCM	billion cubic metres	kg	kilogram
BU	billion units	ha	hectare
MT	million tonnes	Bbl	billion barrels per litre
lakh	1,00,000		ī
million	10 lakh	billion	1,000 million/100 crore

## Acknowledgements

trillion

1,000 billion/100,000 crore

The Economic Survey is a result of teamwork and collaboration. Contributions to the Survey from the Economic Division and Office of CEA include: Archana Mathur, H.A.C. Prasad, A. S. Sachdeva, Rohit K. Parmar, G.S. Negi, Rajasree Ray, Antony Cyriac, R. Sathish, P.K. Abdul Kareem, Ashutosh Raravikar, Nikhila Menon, Shweta, Mrityunjay Jha, Aakanksha Arora, Rabi Ranjan, Dipak Kumar Das, Vijay Kumar, M. Rahul, Abhishek Anand, Gaurav Jha, Kanika Wadhawan, Sonal Ramesh, Vijay Kumar Mann, Riyaz Ahmad Khan, Shobeendra Akkayi, Salam Shyamsunder Singh, Md. Aftab Alam, Pradyut Kumar Pyne, Narendra Jena, Sanjay Kumar Das, Parveen Jain, Subhash Chand, Rajesh Sharma, Amit Kumar Kesarwani, Mritunjay Kumar, Gayathri Ganesh, Tejaswi Velayudhan, Rangeet Ghosh, Josh Felman, Justin Sandefur, Dev Patel, Rohit Lamba, Siddharth Eapen George, Sutirtha Roy, Shoumitro Chatterjee, Sid Ravinutala, Amrit Amirapu, M R Sharan, Parth Khare, Boban Paul, Ananya Kotia, Navneeraj Sharma, Kapil Patidar and Syed Zubair Husain Noqvi.

The Survey has greatly benefitted from the comments and insights of the Hon'ble Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley, who also authors a section in the Survey, possibly the first such contribution by a Finance Minister. The Survey also sincerely acknowledges the comments and inputs from the other Hon'ble Ministers including Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, Shri Suresh Prabhu, Shri Ramvilas Paswan, Shri Ananth Kumar, Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda, Shri Radha Mohan Singh, Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani, Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Shri Piyush Goyal, Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Shri Jayant Sinha and the Ministers of State for Finance - Shri Santosh Kumar Gangwar and Shri Arjun Ram Meghwal.

The Survey has also benefitted from the comments and inputs from officials, specifically, Arvind Panagariya, Nripendra Misra, P K Mishra, Raghuram G Rajan, Urjit Patel, Ashok Lavasa, Shaktikanta Das, Hasmukh Adhia, Anjuly Chib Duggal, Neeraj Kumar Gupta, S Jaishankar, Amitabh Kant, T C A Anant, Vijay Kelkar, Y V Reddy, Ramesh Chand, A P Hota, Rita Teotia, Kapil Dev Tripathi, Rashmi Verma, M. Sathiyavathy, Simanchala Dash, Sangeeta Verma, Amarjeet Sinha, Sushil Chandra, Mohan Joseph, Ajay Tyagi, Dinesh Sharma, Najib Shah, Sushil Chandra, Rani Singh Nair, Nagesh Singh, M R Anand, T V Somanathan, Tarun Bajaj, Brajendra Navnit, Anurag Jain, Saurabh Garg, Prashant Goyal, Anand Jha, Dr. Kumar V. Pratap, B V L Narayana, Arvind Mehta, Arbind Modi, Ashutosh Jindal, Alok Shukla, Amitabh Kumar, Hanish Yadav, Naveen Vidyarthi, Satya Srinivas, Michael Patra, Deepak Mohanty, Bipin Menon, Nanda Sameer Dave, Avneesh Kapoor, Virender Singh, Anurag Sehgal, Deepshikha Arora, Rajan Kumar, Akshay Joshi, Deepak Kumar, DPS Negi, Ram Reddy, Kanchan Dyuti Maiti, R.B Verma, Saswat Rath, Shweta Tomar, Varun Dutt, Nisha Thompson, Thejesh G N, Jorge Coarasa, Sheena Chhabra, Owen K. Smith, Srnivas Kodali, Avinash Celestine, Aman Gupta, Pawan Bakshi, Manoj Alagarajan, Renana Jhabvala, Sarath Davala, Naveen Thomas, Rajesh Bansal, Arghya Sengupta, Rahul Basu, Basu, K P Krishnan, Nirmal Kumar, Prashant Kumar, Laveesh Bhandhari, Tilottama Ghosh, Bhartendu Pandey, Tisha Sehdev, Serene Vaid, Ranjeet Sinha, Kalpnath Bharadwaj, Praveen Kumar, Prakash Kumar, Sanjay Sinha, Yogesh, Todd Moss, Caroline Freund, Samantak Dash, Shishir Baijal, Sumit Shekhar and Savitri Devi, the GSTN team, the Data Meet team and the entire team in the Finance Library; and a number of external collaborators including Abhijit V Banerjee, Dani Rodrik, Devesh Kapur, Pratap Bhanu Mehta, Partha Mukhopadhyay, Nandan Nilekani, Surjit Bhalla, Himanshu, Chinmay Tumbe, Irudaya Rajan, Devesh Roy, Harish Damodaran, Guy Standing, S Sunitha, Manoj Aalagrajan, Sanjaya Kumar, Ashoka Mody, Shekhar Aiyar, Rammanohar Reddy, Sudipto Mundle, Suyash Roy, Rinku Murgai, Dipa Sinha, Milan Vaishnav, Manish Sabharwal, Jeremy Shapiro, Andreas Bauer, Saurabh Shome, Paul Cashin, Harsha Vardhana Singh, Shyam Singh Negi, I S Negi, Rafeeq Ahmad, Sanjay Kumar, Aanchal Gupta, Harish Ahuja, V Rangarajan, Rohit Vohra, Tulsipriya Rajkumari, Siddharth Hari, Satya Poddar, Tarrung Kapur, Sajjid Chinoy, Neelkanth Mishra, Pranjul Bhandari, PetiaTopalova, Frederico Gil Sanders, Kartikeya Subramanian, Seher Gupta, Sahil Kini, Ashish Gupta, Kush Shah Srikanth Viswanathan, Anil Nair, Hari Menon, Sandhya Venkateswaran, Madhu Krishna, Yamini Atamvilas, Akali Muthu, Akhila Sivadas, Somnath Sen, Anjali Chikersal, Swapnil Sekhar, Rajeev Malhotra, Manoranjan Pattanayak, Ranen Banerjee, Dilip Asbe and Bhagesh Vyas.

Apart from the above, various ministries, departments and organisations of the Government of India made contributions in their respective sectors. Able administrative support was given by S. Selvakumar, R P Puri, R K Sinha, N Srinivasan, V K Premkumaran, Gurmeet Bhardwaj, Pradeep Rana, Sadhna Sharma, Jyoti Bahl, Sushil Sharma, Manish Panwar, Sushma, Muna Sah, Suresh Kumar, Aniket Singh, Jodh Singh, Puneet, Ombir, R R Meena, Subhash Chand, Raj Kumar and other staff and members of the Economic Division and the Office of CEA. R B Aniyeri and his team of translators carried out the Hindi translation. The cover page for the Survey was designed by Jacob George of George Design, Kochi, assisted by Vineeth Kumar. Viba Press Pvt. Ltd., Okhla undertook the printing of the English and Hindi version of the Survey.

Finally, the Economic Survey owes a huge debt of gratitude to the families of all those involved in its preparation for being ever so patient and understanding and for extending their unflinching support and encouragement throughout the preparation.

Arvind Subramanian (Chief Economic Adviser) Ministry of Finance Government of India