|
Indias leading automotive and farm equipment company,
Mahindra & Mahindra Limited (M&M) joined a growing list of corporate entities
which have succeeded in getting their names, wrongly usurped by cyber squatters, back.
They have been able to do this, thanks to a new uniform domain name dispute
resolution policy adopted by the International Corporation for Assigned Names and
Numbers (ICANN), the apex body that controls the allotment of Internet domain names.
Under the new policy ICANN has authorised
three global bodies to hear cases of cyber squatting and the decision handed down by these
bodies is binding on all the parties concerned. The aggrieved parties can make use of this
policy if the domain name is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or a service
mark of the aggrieved party or the domain name has been registered and is being used in
bad faith. Further, if these bodies believe that the name ought to be transferred to the
complainant, it can, by an executive order, ensure that the domain name registrars
transfer the names to the rightful owner.
One such body is the World Intellectual
Property Organisation (WIPO) which has handed out significant judgements that has seen
important corporate names return back to the corporate fold.
In M&Ms case, a young student
residing in Andhra Pradesh, registered the domain names, mahindra.com, mahindra.net and
mahindra.org, in his name. When the company officials approached him, the names were
immediately transferred to a cousin of the individual residing in the US. This name
transfer was done to avoid any court proceedings in India.
It was then that M&M decided to take
advantage of the new policy for name dispute redressal announced by ICAAN. It appealed to
the WIPO stating that the name Mahindra was a registered trademark in India and the United
States. Further, the company contended in its application that its name was synonymous
with motor vehicles and tractors.
At the hearing of the case chaired by a
single officer, the panelist concluded that the respondents claim to have registered
the name for the possible launch of a free e-mail site, did not constitute a right or
legitimate interest in the domain name. While the panelist wanted some more details in
respect of the domain name mahindra.com, he ordered that the other two names, mahindra.net
and mahindra.org, be immediately transferred in favour of the Indian company.
|